(Last Updated On: October 12, 2016)

greensboroswarm_primaryGreensboro Swarm Set To Pick 13th In Draft Order

The NBA Development League today announced that the 2016 NBA D-League Draft will take place via teleconference on Sunday, Oct. 30 at 2 p.m. ET.  The six-round event is set to feature more than 200 draft-eligible players.  NBA D-League Draft selections will join players whose NBA Draft rights are held by teams, affiliate players, local tryout standouts, and returning players to populate 2016-17 NBA D-League team rosters.

The 2016 NBA D-League Draft selection order was first determined using the reverse order of 2015-16 regular-season results, with the teams that did not qualify for the 2016 playoffs selecting before teams that did compete in postseason.  The Draft order will also factor in trades, which are permitted for periods until Oct. 29 at 5 p.m. ET.   The final 2016 NBA D-League Draft order will be posted on on Oct. 29 after any potential trades have been completed.

The Greensboro Swarm, Long Island Nets and Windy City Bulls, all new to the NBA D-League for the 2016-17 season, will pick between the playoff and non-playoff teams in the reverse order of the 2016 Expansion Draft.  The Northern Arizona Suns (formerly Bakersfield Jam) and Salt Lake City Stars (formerly Idaho Stampede) will pick in place of their former identities.

Fans can follow the 2016 NBA D-League Draft in real time on  No trades of players or picks will be permitted during the Draft and only players signed to NBA Development League Standard Player Contracts are eligible to be selected.

The NBA D-League’s 16th season tips off on Nov. 11 with a record 22 teams.  Following the Draft, teams will hold training camps beginning on Oct. 31, and will trim their rosters to 10 players on Nov. 10, in advance of the start of the season.

To date, the order for the first round of the 2016 NBA D-League Draft is as follows*:

1              Erie BayHawks

2              Santa Cruz Warriors

3              Oklahoma City Blue

4              Fort Wayne Mad Ants

5              Grand Rapids Drive (from Salt Lake City)

6              Grand Rapids Drive

7              Delaware 87ers

8              Northern Arizona Suns

9              Texas Legends

10           Santa Cruz Warriors (from Raptors)

11           Iowa Energy

12           Windy City Bulls

13           Greensboro Swarm

14           Long Island Nets

15           Salt Lake City Stars (from Los Angeles)

16           Westchester Knicks

17           Rio Grande Valley Vipers

18           Austin Spurs

19           Canton Charge

20           Maine Red Claws

21           Rio Grande Valley Vipers (From Reno)

22           Sioux Falls Skyforce

*Subject to change based on trade activity prior to 2016 NBA D-League Draft

About the Greensboro Swarm:

The new NBA Development League affiliate of the Charlotte Hornets, the Greensboro Swarm will begin play in the 2016-17 season as a member of Atlantic Division in the Eastern Conference. All home games during the inaugural season will be played at the renovated Fieldhouse at the Greensboro Coliseum Complex.  Season tickets are on sale now for as low as $7 per ticket per game, with club seats starting as low as $15 per ticket per game and courtside seats as low as $50 per ticket per game.  Fans purchasing season tickets will save an average of over 20% per ticket per game off of single-game tickets, which will go on sale in the fall. Season ticket members will also receive exclusive benefits such as team autograph sessions, priority for Hornets and Swarm playoff tickets, discounts on Hornets and Swarm merchandise and more. For more information or to purchase season tickets, visit or call 336-907-3600.  Follow the Swarm on Twitter (@greensboroswarm), Facebook (/greensboroswarm) or Instagram (@greensboroswarm).