Another accolade for UNCSA’s School of Film

Last week it was the Emmy nominations, this week it’s the work of a UNCSA cinematographer that takes the prize.

Harper Alexander, a 2014 graduate of the UNCSA School of Filmmaking, is this year’s recipient of the Linwood Dunn Heritage Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Filmmaking Cinematography from the American Society of Cinematographers (ASC), presented to him for his work on the student film Starlight.

This marks only the latest UNCSA/ASC triumph, as Alexander follows previous winners and graduates Aaron Dunson, who won in 2009 for the film Asphyxia, and Brian Melton, who copped top honors in 2007 for the film Red Autumn. In addition, two other School of Filmmaking graduates were selected as “honorable mentions” in previous years: Jeff Taylor in 2009 for 1915 and Jeremy Grant in 2008 for Nest of Spiders.

The ASC Heritage Award is unique in that it is re-dedicated annually to recognize an esteemed member of the society.

Linwood Dunn (1904-88) was a two-term president of the ASC, the inventor of the first zoom lens and optical printer, and a governor of both the cinematography and visual-effects branches of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences (AMPAS). His many film credits include The Thing from Another World (1951), West Side Story (1961), It’s a Mad, Mad, Mad, Mad World (1963), The Great Race (1965) and Hawaii (1966), for which he earned an Oscar nomination for Best Visual Effects. He was also recognized by the Academy with a Technical Achievement Award in 1945, a Medal of Commendation in 2009, an Academy Award of Merit in 1981, and the Gordon E. Sawyer Award in 1985.

The official UNCSA website is