Mayor Vaughan Named to Atlanta Affordable Housing Advisory Council

by YES! Weekly staff

The Federal Home Loan Bank of Atlanta has tapped Greensboro Mayor Nancy Vaughan to serve on its Affordable Housing Advisory Council. Vaughan will serve a two-year term. “This is a terrific opportunity for me to play a role in housing and community development in cities throughout the southeast,” says Vaughan. “As mayor, I have long worked to ensure residents of Greensboro have safe, quality and affordable housing. Through this advisory council and its programs, I can apply that same desire with developers in communities in other areas of our country that need funding.” The housing council meets quarterly to advise the bank on ways it may better carry out its housing finance and community lending vision. Council members review existing programs, like the bank’s affordable housing program, and offer advice on the development of new initiatives. Vaughan was nominated for membership of the board by Dr. Maria Hanlin, CEO of Habitat for Humanity of Greater Greensboro. Vaughan is the advisory council’s lone representative from North Carolina, but is one of two mayors on the panel, joining Columbia, South Carolina Mayor Stephen K. Benjamin. “Habitat Greensboro is honored to nominate Mayor Nancy Vaughn for the Advisory Council of the Federal Home Loan Bank,” says Hanlin. “Mayor Vaughn is dedicated to building stronger neighborhoods in our city and understands the great need for more affordable housing in Greensboro. She inspires our community with her commitment to address issues that will have positive social impact for all of our citizens. We appreciate that Nancy is a tireless champion for the under-represented of our community.” The Federal Home Loan Bank of Atlanta is one of 11 regional banks in the Federal Home Loan Bank System that raises funds in the global financial markets and distributes the proceeds to members and local communities. Bank members include other banks, companies and community development institutions located in Alabama, Florida, Georgia, Maryland, North Carolina, South Carolina, Virginia and Washington, DC.

Source – City of Greensboro