Items from across the Triad and beyond

Last minute filings change Greensboro council Elections

Several filings on July 19 — the last day candidates could sign up — have altered the landscape of Greensboro’s nonpartisan municipal elections this fall. Outspoken council critics and part-time activists Ben Holder and Katei Cranford are running at-large. Repeat candidate Marlando Pridgen also filed for the at large race on the last day — there are three available seats, two incumbents running and several other candidates in the field.

In a few short years we’ve already started to lose track of how many offices Sal Leone has run for, switching his filing from at large to District 5, where he will compete against Tony Wilkins and late-filer Alex Seymour, who spoke against noise ordinance changes at council’s last meeting.

Here are all the candidates and the seats they’re seeking:

• Mayor: Robbie Perkins (i), Nancy Vaughan (o) and George Hartzman; • at-large (three seats): Marikay Abuzuaiter (i), Yvonne Johnson (i), Mike Barber (o), Jean Brown, Katei Cranford, Ben Holder, Joseph Landis, Chris Lawyer and Marlando Pridgen; • District 1: Dianne Bellamy-Small (i), Sharon Hightower and Tigress McDaniel; • District 2: Jim Kee (i) and Jamal Fox; • District 3: Zack Matheny (i), Corey Pysher and Wendell Roth; • District 4: Nancy Hoffmann (i), Bill Knight (o) and John Alexander Underwood; and• District 5: Tony Wilkins (i), Sal Leone and Alex Seymour = incumbent. (o) = formerly on council.

— EG

Winston-salem election features contested primaries

Filing also closed for Winston-Salem City Council on July 19. Republican James Lee Knox filed for the mayor’s race, setting up a general election contest with Democratic incumbent Allen Joines.

Noah Reynolds and Laura Elliott added their names to the Democratic primary ballot along with Jeff MacIntosh to replace outgoing Councilwoman Wanda Merschel. The Democratic nominee meets Republican Lida Hayes-Calvert in the general election.

Community leader Carolyn Highsmith confronts incumbent Molly Leight in the Democratic primary for the South Ward, with the winner facing Republican Nathan Jones in the general election.

Phil Carter joins the Democratic primary for the East Ward, where Joycelyn Johnson is attempting to reclaim her old seat from incumbent Derwin Montgomery.

Robert Bultman joins perennial candidate Donald T. Shaw in the Republican primary for the Southeast Ward, with the winner taking on Democratic incumbent Dan Besse in the general election. And the Republican primary got more crowded in the West Ward, with Andrew Johnson joining Howard Hudson in a challenge to incumbent Robert Clark. — JG