Status quo holds in Forsyth election returns

Evelyn Terry left the Democratic celebration at the Millennium Center in downtown Winston- Salem after the networks called North Carolina for Mitt Romney.

The victorious NC House District 71 candidate groused with fellow Democratic House representative-elect Ed Hanes Jr. about working with Pat Mc- Crory, the Republican governor-elect.

“We have to move North Carolina forward,” she said. “The future is what it’s all about. Democracy worked for the people who exercised their right.”

She pondered what it would mean to represent a Democratic constituency in Winston-Salem as a minority in a Republican-controlled General Assembly.

“The reality is my principles are firmly entrenched,” Terry said. “Now that does not mean there are not places where for a sense of order I am not capable of compromise, but it does not come lightly. Surely reasonable people can work together and make things better for all of us.”

Terry beat her Republican opponent, Kris McCann, 77.9 percent to 22.1 percent.

Hanes, who defeated Republican opponent Charlie Mellies, said he was happy to have such a commanding win.

“I wasn’t expecting 75 percent,” he said. “That lets me know there are a lot of people who believe in my ability.”

As with the two victorious Democratic House candidates, the results in Republican-leaning districts were no surprise.

Debra Conrad, a Republican county commissioner, won election to NC House District 74 over Democrat David Moore.

Julia Howard, a 20-year Republican veteran of the House, easily defeated Democratic challenger Cristina Vazquez.

Donny Lambeth, who currently serves as chair of the Winston-Salem/ Forsyth County School Board faced no opposition in NC House District 75.

In suburban and rural areas, NC Senate District 31, Republican Pete Brunstetter, a senior budget writer on the powerful Appropriations Committee, easily fended off Democrat Delmas Parker.

And Earline Parmon, a veteran Democratic legislator, handily dispatched Republican Reginald Reid to win election in urban NC Senate District 32. She will replace Sen. Linda Garrou, who was drawn into District 31,when Republicans decapitated the Democratic leadership, redrewing districting maps after taking control of the General Assembly two years ago.

Democrat Gail McNeill failed in her goal to break into the Republican bloc that monopolizes Forsyth County Commission District B. Three Republican incumbents — Chairman Richard Linville, Gloria Whisenhunt and Dave Plyler — each garnered about 27 percent of the vote to win reelection to the three seats, while McNeill trailed with 19.4 percent.

Democrat Norman Holleman won re-election as Forsyth County Register of Deeds with 53.1 percent of the vote, compared to 46.9 percent by Republican challenger Karen Gordon.

As expected, Republican Virginia Foxx held her seat in the 5th Congressional District, while Democratic incumbent Mel Watt prevailed in the 12th Congressional District.