Archives

Triad liquor wine beer resources business

by Brian Clarey

‘ 

For a time, North Carolina’s connection to alcohol was firmly rooted in the illicit production and distribution of moonshine, until Prohibition was repealed and the whole shipping arm was rolled into NASCAR.

‘ 

But we’ve grown grapes in North Carolina from the beginning — usually big, sweet muscadines and scuppernongs that resulted in the sticky, sugary wines for which the state was once known.

But vintners have been hard at work dispelling the myth of North Carolina wines for decades, crafting sophisticated reds, whites and ros’s that are beginning to get noticed outside the confines of our state.

The federal government officially recognized the NC wine industry when gave the Yadkin Valley a designation of American viticultural area in 2003, covering more than 1 million acres across Surry, Yadkin, Wilkes, Davie, Davidson and Forsyth counties. The AVA designation gives distinction to a grape-growing region, and can be used in marketing and pricing a wine.

There are 198 AVAs in the United States, with more than 100 of them in California. There are just 29 AVAs on the East Coast; three of them are in North Carolina, all touching on the Piedmont Triad. Swan Creek, which exists nestled inside the Yadkin Valley AVA, was named in 2008. The Haw River Valley AVA, on the Triad’s east side, was designated in 2009. Forty wineries exist between the three AVAs, and their products get better with each generation. All are open for tastings and tours; check the websites for details.

HawRiver Valley

Benjamin Vineyards and Winery; 6516 Whitney Road, Graham; 336.376.1080; www.benjaminvineyards.com GlenMarie Vineyards and Winery; 1838 Johnson Road, Burlington; 336.578.3938; www.glenmariewinery.com Grove Winery; 7360 Brooks Bridge Road, Gibsonville; 336.584.4060; www.grovewinery.com SilkHope Winery; 2601 Silk Hope Gum Springs Road, Pittsboro; 919.545.5696; www.silkhopewinery Starrlight Meadery; 480 Hillsboro Street, Suite 1000, Pittsboro; 919.533.6314; starlightmead.com The Winery at Iron Gate Farm; 2541 Lynch Store Road, Mebane; 919.304.9463 www.irongatevineyards.com Wolfe Wines; 8973 Old Plank Road, Snow Camp; 336.376.1401 or 1.888.594.WOLF; www.wolfewines.com

Swan Creek

Buck Shoals Vineyard & Winery; 6121 Vintner Way, Hamptonville; 336.468.9247; www.buckshaolsvineyardnc.com Dobbins Creek Vineyards; 4430 Vineyard View Lane, Hamptonville; 336.468-4770; www.dobbinscreekvineyards. com Laurel Gray Vineyards & Winery; 5726 Old US Hwy 421, Hamptonville; 336.468.9463; www.laurelgray.com Raffaldini Vineyards & Winery; 450 Groce Road, Ronda; 336.835.9463; www.raffaldini.com Shadow Springs Vineyard; 5543 Crater Road, Hamptonville; 336.468.5000; www.shadowspringsvineyard.com

Yadkin Valley

Allison Oaks Vineyards; 221 E. Main St., Yadkinville; 336.677.1388; www.allisonoaksvineyards.com Benny Parsons Rendezvous Ridge; 172 Benny Parsons Road, Purlear; 336.973.7375; www.rendezvousridge.com Brandon Hills Vineyard; 1927 Brandon Hills Road, Yadkinville; 336.463.WINE Brushy Mountain Winery; 125 W. Main St., Elkin; 336.835.1313; www.brushymountainwine.com Carolina Heritage Vineyard & Winery; 170 Heritage Vines Way, Elkin; 336.366.3301; www.carolinaheritagevineyards.com Cellar 4201; 4201 Apperson Road, East Bend; 336.699.6030; www.cellar4201.com Childress Vineyards; 1000 Childress Vineyards Road, Lexington; 336.236.9463; www.childressvineyards.com Divine Llama Vineyards; Divine Llama Vineyards; 3524 Yadkinville Road, East Bend; 336.407.8413; www.divinellamavineyards.com Elkin Creek Vineyard & Winery; 318 Elkin Creek Mill Road, Elkin; 336.526.5119; www.elkincreekvineyard.com Flint Hill Vineyards; 2133 Flint Hill Road, East Bend; 336.699.4455; www.flinthillvineyards.com Grassy Creek Vineyard & Winery; 235 Chatham Cottage Circle, State Road; 336.835.2458; www.grassycreekvineyard. com Hanover Park Vineyard; 1927 Courtney-Huntsville Road, Yadkinville; 336.463.2875 www.hanoverparkwines.com Hutton Vineyards; 176 Hutton Vineyards Lane, Dobson; 336.374.2621; www.huttonwinery.com Junius Lindsay Vineyard; 385 Dr. Zimmerman Road, Lexington; 336.764.0487; www.juniuslindsay.com McRitchie Winery & Ciderworks; 315 Thurmond PO Road, Thurmond; 336.874.3003; www.mcritchiewine.com Misty Creek Vineyards; 710 Wyo Road, Mocksville; 336.998.3303; www.mistycreekwines.com/ Native Vines Winery; 1336 N NC Highway 15o, Lexington; 336.787.3688; www.nativevineswinery Old North State Winery; 308 N. Main St., Mount Airy; 336.789.9463; www.oldnorthstatewinery.com Olde Mill Vineyards; 2742 Simpson Mill Road, Mount Airy; 336.374.OLDE; www.oldemillvineyards.com RagApple Lassie Vineyards & Guest House; 3724 RagApple Lassie Lane, Boonvillee; 866.RAGAPPLE; www.ragapplelassie.com RayLen Vineyards & Winery; 3577 US Highway 158, Mocksville; 336.998.3100; www.raylenvineyards.com Round Peak Vineyards; 765 Round Peak Church Road, Mount Airy; 336.352.5595; www.roundpeak.com Sanders Ridge Vineyard; 3200 Round Hill Road, Boonville; 336.677.1700; www.sandersridge.com Shelton Vineyards; 286 Cabernet Lane, Dobson; 336.366.4724; www.sheltonvineyards.com Slightly Askew Winery; 913 North Bridge St., Elkin; 336.835.2700; www.slightlyaskewwines.com Stony Knoll Vineyards; 1143 Stony Knoll Road, Dobson; 336.374.5752; www.stonyknollvineyards.com Weathervane Winery; 1452 Welcome-Arcadia Road, Lexington; 336.793.3366; www.weathervanewinery.com Westbend Vineyards; 5394 Williams Road, Lewisville; 336.945.5032; www.estbendvineyards.com

Share: