Witherspoon squeaks by Bailey to win county commissioner seat

by Keith Barber

Everette Witherspoon defeated incumbent Forsyth County Commissioner Beaufort Bailey by a mere 95 votes in the Democratic primary of the District A race on Tuesday. Witherspoon’s razor-thin margin of victory was still greater than 1 percent of the total ballots cast, which would exclude the possibility of Bailey demanding a recount. Incumbent Walter Marshall won 43 percent of the vote in the District A race, securing a fourth term on the board of commissioners. With no Republican challenger in the race, Marshall and Witherspoon effectively earned seats with their victories on Tuesday. The county commissioner proved to be the closest of all the races in Forsyth during the primary election.

Incumbent Linda Garrou easily defeated challenger Ed Hanes in the Democratic primary for the NC Senate District 32 seat, winning 81 percent of the vote. Hanes pulled out of the race several weeks ago but still managed to get 19 percent of the votes cast. Garrou will face off against Republican Nathan Jones, who won the nomination of his party by defeating challenger Brian C. Miller by 20 percentage points. Like Hanes, Miller pulled out of the race several weeks ago.

Earline Parmon, a four-term incumbent, won the Democratic nomination for NC House District 72 by defeating challenger Gardenia Henley by a 76-24 margin. Parmon will face Republican John E. Magee in the November general election.

Susan Speaks Frye pulled off an upset victory over incumbent Nick Gordon to win the Democratic nomination for the Clerk of Superior Court race. Frye, an arbitration manager for Forsyth County Chief District Court

Judge William B. Reingold, won 53 percent of the vote. She will square off against Republican Jeff L. Polston in the November general election.

In the Forsyth County sheriff’s race, incumbent Bill Schatzman defeated Republican challenger Dave Griffith, winning 54 percent of the vote. Schatzman, who was first elected in 2002, will take on Democratic candidate Jerry Wayne Herron in the November general election.

The field of 26 candidates vying for seats on the Winston-Salem/Forsyth County School Board has now been whittled to 18. In the at-large seat, the top six vote-getters qualified for the November general election. Incumbent Jeannie Metcalf won the most votes, garnering nearly 19 percent of the ballots cast.

Incumbent Donny Lambeth won 17 percent, while incumbent Elisabeth Motsigner secured 12 percent of the votes for the at large seat. Three other candidates qualified for the November general election including Robert Barr, Lori Goins Clark and Nancy Sherrill.

In the school board District 1 race, the top four vote-getters qualified to be on the ballot in November. Incumbents Vic Johnson and Geneva Brown earned the most votes, while challengers Jimmie Lee Bonham and Chenita Barber Johnson garnered enough votes to qualify for the November ballot.

In the District 2 race, the top 8 vote-getters qualified for the general election. The four incumbent school board members representing District 2 — Jill Tackaberry, AL “Buddy” Collins, Jane Goins, and Marilyn Parker — won the most votes. Challengers Jim Toole, Carla B. Farmer, Donald Dunn and Stacey Walker McElveen also made the cut for the November general election.