Feb. 29, 2012 11:02


Items from across the Triad and beyond

Candidates crowd ballot as filing period winds down

Earl Jones, ousted as representative of NC House District 60 in the Democratic primary two years ago, is seeking a rematch with the seat’s current occupant, Rep. Marcus Brandon. Jones had represented the district, which harnesses predominantly African-American areas of High Point and Greensboro through rural corridor of Guilford County, since 2003. Jones filed on Monday and Brandon announced earlier that he would seek reelection.

Libertarian Kent Wilsey of Greensboro is challenging Republican John Blust for House District 62, covering northwest Guilford. Jeremy Williams of High Point and Hank Henning of Jamestown — both Republicans — filed to run for Guilford County Commission in District 6, which hugs Interstate 40 at the western end of the county, on Monday.

Sharon Kasica, who describes herself as a small business owner, filed to run for NC House District 59. The active Republican Party member and Guilford County native is running against Republican Jon Hardister. Larry Sharp, a Greensboro Libertarian, filed to run for the 6th Congressional District. Incumbent Howard Coble has filed for reelection to the seat, along with fellow Republicans Billy Yow of Greensboro and Jim Allen of Burlington.

Incumbent and Eden resident Phil Berger, the most powerful member of the NC Senate, will face off against fellow Republican Bobby Coffer of Browns Summit in District 26. Greensboro resident Tammy Walker threw her hat in against three others for the at-large seat on the Guilford County School Board.

Paul Daniels filed for reelection in District 5, where he faces two challengers, and incumbents Carlveena Foster and Amos Quick filed for reelection in districts 1 and 9 respectively. Wayne Patterson, president of the Forsyth County NAACP, filed on Monday for the NC House District 72 seat being vacated by Earline Parmon, who is running for NC Senate District 32. And on Tuesday, Ed Hanes joined the race.

Patterson and Hanes’ entry creates a competitive three-way contest in the Democratic leaning, heavily African-American district, which covers much of northeast Winston-Salem. Jimmie Bonham, a Parmon ally, had already filed for the seat.

All three candidates are previous aspirants to public office. Patterson ran unsuccessfully for Winston-Salem City Council in 2009, Hanes failed to unseat Sen. Linda Garrou in Senate District 32 in 2010, and Bonham fell short of winning a seat on the Winston-Salem/Forsyth County School Board, also in 2010. Charlie Mellies is the sole Republican in the House District 72 race.

In House District 74, which stretches across the northern portion of Forsyth County, Debra Conrad and Larry Brown have competition from a third Republican, Glenn L. Cobb, to fill the seat vacated by Dale Folwell. Two Democrats, John C. Gladman and David W. Moore, have also entered the race. Gladman, who serves as assistant director for emergency shelter at the Salvation Army of Winston-Salem, ran unsuccessfully for Forsyth County Commission in 2008.

Republican Gene Lowder threw in for the crowded race for the three seats up for grabs in the Republican-leaning District B on the Forsyth County Commission, along with incumbents Richard Linville, Gloria Whisenhunt and David Plyler; and fellow challengers Mark Baker, John R. Bost and Bob Prescott.

Mike Beitler of Oak Ridge is among a field of three Republicans challenging Democratic incumbent Elaine Marshall for NC secretary of state. Beitler ran as a Libertarian for US Senate in 2010, while Marshall won the Democratic nomination in the race.

Both candidates lost to incumbent Republican Richard Burr. Filing closes for most races on Wednesday, but has been extended for districts 4, 5, 6 and 8 on the Guilford County Commission until March 9.

Also in Scuttlebutt