extended play

by Jordan Green

extended play

Voting is open for the Carolina Music Awards, to be held at Progress Energy Center in Raleigh on Aug. 15. Nominations by category are as follows: Rock Group/Band: Assembly Required, Lindy Dobbins & the Red Velvet Manx, Feathered Serpent, Dreamkiller, Parmalee and Rookie of the Year; Rock Female: Lindy Dobbins, Ashley Chambliss, Jessica Drake, Christy Johnson and Jean Morrison; Rock Male: Mark Kano, Nathan Asher, Jeremy Hopkins, Chad Mackey, Cameron Daily, Jay Clifford and Joal Rush; R&B Group/Band: the Solcetfre Project, Soul Mello, the Foreign Exchange and Blaaz; R&B Female: Charli Madison, Carlitta Durand, Amore’ Rayne, Seretha Lichez, Neesha and Tamara; R&B Male: Pooh Bear, Young Fletcher, Lil’MaQ, Ricco Barrino, Chenier Wilson, Marcus Allen and Mike Smith; Country Group/Band: Outshyne, Chatham County Line, Black Water Outlaws, OSMR, South 85, L Shaped Lot; Country Female: Donna Hughes, Cameron Marion, Tammie Davis, Madonna Nash, Charlotte Overman and Kristina Kidd; Country Male: David Cooler, Jeffrey Allen Edwards, Thad Cockrell, Hoss Howard and Chase Flower; Hip-Hop Group/Band: Ike & Shyst, M1 Platoon, Pop N Bulletz, Pro Black and Team IRAC; Hip-Hop Female: Shelly B, VA tha Boss Chick, Mica Swain, Le Le AKA Bad Bad, Moe.Diamondz and Marion Westwood; Hip-Hop Male: Derty Den, Lil Ru, Bettie Grind, Ricky Ruckus, Boss G, Rain, P Wonder and Gully Mack; DJ of the Year: Ike G Da, DJ Skillz, DJ Nasty, Barry Bee, DJ Grant, DJ B Lord and DJ Chuck T; and Producer of the Year: JJ the Jenius, Manifest, Blackstorm, Big Serg, Tony Gunz and Mister D. Visit www. to cast your ballot. Holy Hell & the Hangovers play the Piedmont Ale House in Burlington on Wednesday. Bruce Piephoff works the Grove Winery in Gibsonville on Wednesday. Anstanza performs the noontime concert at Center City Park in Greensboro on Wednesday. Gerard Schwartz conducts an Eastern Music Festival Concert Organ

page 56